Certified Access Management Specialist (CAMS)®

Certification Overview

Access management also known as rights management is the execution of policies and procedures for granting authorized individuals the right to access services, functions, data, and physical locations while preventing non-authorized individuals from accessing systems, assets, and other services.

Access management is one of the information security disciplines which interacts with users and their management the most and is critical to the implementation of policies and procedures to support the security goals of the organization, mitigate access risks, maintain access controls, and comply with contractual and legal requirements.

Identity Management Institute® (IMI) developed the Certified Access Management Specialist® (CAMS) training program for testing, analysis, and evaluation of the knowledge, skills and abilities of professionals for the purpose of certification and re-certification in the field of access management. CAMS® is a registered trademark of IMI.

Watch this video to learn more about the Certified Access Management Specialist (CAMS)® program:



Certification Process

Interested candidates must be members of Identity Management Institute, apply to receive the CAMS study guide, and pass the online examination to become certified.

Special Offer

Current price of $290 for new members includes 1 year membership with CAMS study guide and video course, up to 3 exam attempts, and certificate upon passing the exam. Please apply for IMI membership and submit a CAMS application to get started.


The CAMS examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. Candidates must answer at least 70 questions correctly to pass the exam and become certified. Registered candidates can take the exam up to 3 times at no additional charge which can be taken on any day except on the blackout dates listed in the exam registration form anywhere on desktop computers or mobile devices with Internet access. Click the banner to take the CAMS practice test and become familiar with the final test format and content.

Access Management Role

In the fulfillment of their duties, CAMS professionals must in general ensure that:

  • Users and their approvers are properly identified,
  • Access is approved and granted on a timely basis,
  • Access is removed timely and completely when users change jobs or roles,
  • Access Control Matrix is maintained and periodically audited to ensure access permissions are valid and accurate,
  • User activities are recorded, and
  • Incidents or events are properly managed.

Critical Risk Domains™

The 10 Critical Risk Domains which professionals must understand and master in order to earn the CAMS designation include the following:

  1. Security Objectives
  2. Threats
  3. Access Controls
  4. Rights Management
  5. Identification
  6. Authorization
  7. Authentication
  8. Access Control Matrix
  9. Logging and Monitoring
  10. Event Management

Download the CAMS overview document for Critical Risk Domain details.

Who Should Become a CAMS

Professionals who are engaged in any of the following activities either directly or in a support role will greatly benefit by becoming a Certified Access Management Specialist as they will improve their skills and increase their credibility:

  • Receiving and verifying access requests,
  • Reviewing access right approvals,
  • Granting, correcting and removing access rights,
  • Monitoring access activities,
  • Auditing access control matrix and related system reports,
  • Following up on suspicious activities, and
  • Investigating and resolving access incidents.


apply-nowApplication Cost

The CAMS application fee is $195 for current IMI members and $290 for new members which includes 1 year membership, CAMS study guide and video course, up to 3 exam attempts, and the certificate upon passing the exam. Please submit the applications to get started.

Payment Processing

IMI uses PayPal and other third party credit card processors to request and receive international credit card payments after applications are received. Alternatively, candidates may mail a check or request for bank wire transfer information.

Certificate Maintenance

Certified professionals must earn continuing education, adhere to the IMI code of ethics, and be active members.